Supervenus by Frédéric Doazan

IMG_2491.JPGThis amazing clip by Frédéric Doazan shows the gruesome but sadly true story of modern day expectations of beauty and how women feel pressured to change their appearance to suit these expectations. The short film was entered into the 17th Brussels Short Film Festival.

I found this clip somewhat enthralling and interesting, although a little gory, but kind of relatable. I’ve never been entirely happy about the way I look, and I can get insecure about the fact that I’m not as skinny as I’d like to be. And even though that’s human nature – we’re never happy with what we’ve already got – the fact that I am constantly surrounded by all these ads and pictures featuring skinny girls with perfect features makes me feel all the more bad about myself. I’ve got nothing against skinny girls; I’m just frustrated that there’s only one definition of “pretty” in the fashion industry.

Watch Frédéric Doazan’s short film here:

images from:
http://blog.autourdeminuit.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Supervenus_02.jpg http://i.vimeocdn.com/video/476762936_640.jpg

One Comment Add yours

  1. The Sartorial Coquette says:

    wow this clip is quite scary!! i was not expecting that gory ending
    thesartorialcoquette.com

Leave a Reply

