the 1975 live in HK

The_1975,_band_from_Manchester,_UKLast Tuesday January 27 2015, I went to see The 1975 live in The Vine Center, located in the Wanchai District in Hong Kong. Truth be told, the venue itself was small – in fact, it’s a church! – but the band was spectacular.HWB2

The 1975 previously came to Hong Kong to perform at Clockenflap in 2013 and I think another event, although I’m not too sure. Named the most hard-working band of 2014, they’ve been touring around the world for 2 and a 1/2 years, and Hong Kong was their last stop before heading home to Manchester (for statistics and colourful graphs, visit http://blog.songkick.com/2014/12/17/the-hardest-working-bands-of-2014/).

Luckily for me, I SAW THEM ON THE STREET! I still can’t get over it.
I’d heard someone scream out, turned around, and went HOLY S**T! Internally, of course. Because The 1975 was RIGHT NEXT TO ME! AAAAGGSDFGHJKL.

IMG_4221I didn’t go up to them though. I didn’t ask if I could take a picture either, and instead just took a photo of them. My friends were lining up and were far away, so it was just me. They’d just bought food from a street store and were holding baggies of food and smoking. Most of the people who went to the concert were much older than us, and were smoking and drinking and all that. I mean, I don’t judge anyone or anything, but I’ve just turned 14 and I’m not really about to start smoking. So long story short, I got rather intimidated and I forgot they were also human – also they were all fricking 1.8 m, and I barely clear 1.6 m!
I even crossed the road with them, and along the way I think Adam stopped under a street name sign and posed.

Matt’s hair was a huge bush and his shirt was so damn colourful. I think I got the most intimidated by George, though. I don’t know why, I just think that out of them all he seemed the most badass.

The 1975 performed all their most well-known songs, including Girls, Medicine, Settle Down, Robbers, and Chocolate (for which Matt got everyone to hold each others’ hands and go crazy, promising that it would be awkward for 10917810_854600457935716_686176604329137235_oonly 2 seconds – he was right, at least for me!) They saved the best for last – the crowd started chanting “We want Sex! We want Sex!” and he replied sarcastically, “We’ve been around the world for two and a half years, and YOU want sex?”, then crowing “You want Sex? Let’s go!” before raising his hands up and making the hand gesture… and the music went up.
The concert was absolutely brilliant.

Here is their self-titled album on Spotify:

I posted a video of Matt Healy talking to the crowds on YouTube:

Some of their most popular songs include:

Recently out is their song “Medicine”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lur5B3a4_fk

If you’re interested in finding out more or reading a review, click http://basedonnothing.net/2013/09/03/album-review-the-1975-the-1975/

Images from: http://basedonnothing.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/the1975header-610×250.jpg
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_1975

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Karen says:

    OMGSH! SO JEALOUS. I absolutely adore the 1975 too. What’s your favourite track?

    1. chezzachooun says:

      My favourite track changes from time to time, but right now it’d be either “You” or “Me”

Leave a Reply

