blue with a twist

A few weeks ago, the small second-hand store on Li Yuen Street West in Central was visited by three generations of ladies – grandma N, mama D, and I. What change came over them  – one of whom was very superstitious about second-hand clothing – to convince them to set foot, happily purchase, and have no qualms about buying from here? I have no idea. In short, a sudden impulse to run to the thrift store coupled with my mother’s anxiousness (plus afternoon tea with my grandma) resulted in a brilliant haul. I have my mother to thank for her keen eye in stores and her kick-ass partner-in-crime attitude ♥.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with e3 preset

many blue dress red bag

At first, I thought I’d buy this dress as a present for my cousin. It cost 120 HKD and didn’t come with a matching belt, so I made one with red tape and silver double D-rings to make a buckle. The red really livens up the blue, and I tried to accentuate the clash with a red bag. The pattern is also really interesting – it’s got lots of orange and pink squiggles, punctuated with teal and white dots which combined are reminiscent of soundwaves. Personally it reminds me of the aesthetic in Tame Impala’s ‘Feels Like We Only Go Backwards’. Here’s the video for reference; the dots come up around 1:43:

To match (or clash, for lack of better word), a silver pair of heels would probably look really cool here, but I don’t have any so I just wore my leopard sandals. I promise, I’ll wear my heels another time.

Dress: thrifted from Me & G
Red crossbody bag: Zara
Shoes: Freelance Australia
Belt: handmade by me
Earrings: Cotton On (thanks Shirley)

Leave a Reply

