food for thought: my life in a soundtrack

If you know any one (or probably all) of these songs, then we’re on the same WaVeLeNGtH! y’know, sound waves and amplitude and longitude and all. I haven’t touched physics since Year 11.

These are either still my favourites, or are extremely cringey. I used to be a pop fan until Year 9 or so – I never realized that there was a world outside the Top Billboard charts until I was 13 years old. I have bared my soul and therefore simultaneously apologise and implore you not to judge my pre-teenage-dirtbag choices.

My Bad Questionable Musical Evolution

Songs that my dad loves to sing along to when washing the dishes: Every Breath You Take, Take My Breath Away by Berlin, any Queen song that he knows (Love of my Life, probably)
Watching my mom doing the laundry: the ABBA Gold album, the Bee Gees, John Lennon/the Beatles / ‘Je t’aime/moi non plus’ by Serge Gainsbourg and Jane Birkin (honestly mom, why’d you let me listen to such an explicit song? I was seven.)
Cub Scouts: California Girls by Katy Perry (oh lord)
Hitching a ride in my friend Alison’s car: Bad by The Cab (I’m sorry about this one) / the Doo-wops and Hooligans album by Bruno Mars
Tibet Challenge Week anthem: Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen
La Réunion Challenge Week (waxing upper lips and dancing on beds in the boys’ dorms): You Give Love a Bad Name by Bon Jovi
Favourite song of 2017/most played on repeat in a single week: Comfortably Numb by Pink Floyd
Favourite song of 2016: Wuthering Heights by Kate Bush
Favourite songs of 2015: Kids by MGMT / The Less I Know the Better by Tame Impala
Favourite songs of 2014: something or the other from Mac Demarco’s Freaking Out the Neighborhood album
Most continually encountered song of the 2010s/running from Pedal Kart to get dinner: Mr. Brightside by the Killers
Primary school (Year 5) classroom moment – a couple of guys breakdancing: It’s My Life by Bon Jovi
Solo song for IHM 2017: Dancing in the Street by Martha and the Vandellas (it’s kind of dead to me now… I think I sang it too many times 😦 )
First (and best) IHM memory (2014): Roar by Katy Perry
Dancing at Sai Kung Stadium after mock GCSEs: Never Gonna Give You Up by Rick Astley (that song is really something, and not in a good way but wHY DID I LISTEN TO IT)
A song that used to be my favourite but now I’m not sure anymore: Hotel California by the Eagles
Japanese song that I used to listen to: True True by Cagnet
Singing this on the top of my lungs in my friend Lilian’s car: The Phantom of the Opera theme song
Songs that I sing with my extremely talented friends Leif and Bonnie: anything from Phantom/Les Mis
Singing this in front of my class (and cracking the C): On My Own from Les Misérables
Year 9: She Will Be Loved / This Love by Maroon 5, The One That Got Away by Katy Perry (not afraid to admit at the age of 13 this was my attempt at being worldly under the influence of a hormonal wave)
Album that I only listened to because I wanted to impress my crush – but then actually fell in love with the sound and converted me to an indie/alternative fan: Hot Fuss by the Killers
Song that I tried to get into because I saw my crush listening to it: Black and Yellow by Wiz Khalifa (honestly, what was I doing with my life in Year 9?)
Albums that are linked in my mind: Jake Bugg’s self-titled album and Long Way Down by Tom Odell
Song that I had my only audition with someone else with: Sweater Weather by the Neighborhood
Band that has a soft spot in my heart because I bonded over it with my friend Reese and we met the guitarist John Victor (and she filmed a sick unofficial music video for): Gengahr
Album that I associate with my first trip to Paris: Lady Gaga’s The Fame
Album that I associate with hiking with my old iPod: Glee Season 1 Vol. 1
Song I’ve heard most on Smooth.fm: You’re So Vain by Carly Simon
Artist that I associate with my first trip to London: Michael Jackson
Songs that I associate with riding in my uncle Solon’s car to Boston: Zou Bisou Bisou by Jessica Paré / Chan Chan by Bueno Vista Social Club
First covered song I’ve ever heard: Fly Me To the Moon/Close to You by Susan Wong – I didn’t discover the original version until a year later.
My mom found out/was extremely shocked that I could sing in tune when she listened to a home-recording of this song: Girl on Fire by Alicia Keys
Song I discovered through Landau Eugene Murphy: My Way by Frank Sinatra
Songs that my friend Matthew and I always harmonise on: Sound of Music / I Won’t Say I’m In Love from Hercules
Song that is currently stuck in my head thanks to discussing Keats in English, Petrarchan sonnets and the unrequited-love anthems of Ms. Coull’s youth: Teenage Dirtbag by Wheatus

When I was little my mom used to put on a CD of classical music before I went to bed – Mozart, Chopin, you name it. I don’t remember the names of all the symphonies/sonatas but can usually recognise them by ear.

So that’s it, I’ve officially braved the wilderness of memory and dredged up the most gruesome bits! What about you? What’s the most cringe-worthy song that you can’t believe you used to love?

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

